Deadliest Catch

23 May

If you had told me 10 years ago I’d love a show about crab fishing, I’d have told you that you were off your rocker. But, yes, it is true. I am glued to the tv for every episode of Deadliest Catch. That Bering Sea…just wow.  I got sucked into this reality show a few years ago and have watched faithfully ever since.  Let me start by saying, I used to think it was ridiculous the price per pound restaurants charged for crab.  I remember quite a few visits to Joe’s Crab Shack with Sassycas and we always ordered the King Crab but grumbled about the price anyway.  Never again!  After seeing what these men go through to catch these crab, I will never again complain about the price per pound.  No way.

There have been boats on and off the show over the course of the seasons.  I do miss watching the Cornelia Marie with Capt. Phil Harris (RIP) but the remaining boats keep my watching.  My favorite boat is definitely the Northwestern.  Who doesn’t love Capt. Sig Harris, and Edgar, and Jake, and Nick?  Love those guys!!  And it’s great seeing Jake Harris working hard to fit in.  I really hope the rehab is helping him better himself for his own sake and for his father’s sake.  Second, I love the Time Bandit.  Those Hillstrands just crack me up.  And I love how they have taken Josh Harris under their wings.  Phil is smiling down without question.  Next, it’s a toss-up.  I like the Wizard being on the show just because I don’t know what crazy Keith will do next.  And, I love Freddie!  (You know Freddie, the deck hand from the Cornelia Marie.)  Freddie is awesome.  His energy is contagious.  One of the newer boats on the show is the Seabrook.  I really like that boat and see a lot of potential on the show.  Capt. Scott really meshes well with the other captains.  He reminds me of a young Phil Harris.  The boat I would LOVE to see booted off the show is The Ramblin’ Rose.  I can’t stand Elliot!  He’s young, pompous, arrogant, and disrespectful.  His poor decisions and ‘I already know everything’ attitude is going to get one of his poor deck hands killed.

Discovery channel, you did this one right!  Don’t be foolish, keep the “key” boats on the show, or you will tank.  No more silly arguments with the Time Bandit where the Northwestern has to threaten to pull off this show if things aren’t resolved. 

I have tried watching some of the other “similar” reality shows like the one about lobster fishing, etc.  They just don’t do it for me.  Something about the chemistry on Deadliest Catch is just, well, right. 

~Chica Pants

2 Responses to “Deadliest Catch”

  1. sassycas May 23, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

    Deadliest Catch is definitely one of my favorite shows. I can’t really explain why; it’s just awesome. And I’m in agreement with Chica Pants on the boats, too. Northwestern is #1, followed by the Time Bandit. I miss the Cornelia Marie; Captain Phil (RIP) reminded me of my dad. Keith is the captain I love to hate. The Seabrook is growing on me. The Ramblin’ Rose has got to go.

    Chica Pants left one boat out, and it’s definitely easy to forget. So easy to forget that I can’t even remember the name of it right now!

    I’d love it if they’d bring back the boat with the captain that said “shoo-mama!” He was funny.

    And now I am hungry for some crab!

    ~Sassycas

    • chicapants May 23, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

      You are right Sassycas!! I forgot Wild Bill of the f/v Kodiak. I hate to say it, but he is easy to forget to me. I can’t get into that boat, they have revolving crew so I never have a chance to get attached to anyone.

      ~Chicapants

Leave a Reply

