Ice Cream Cake

25 Jun

My birthday was earlier this month, and aside from all the other fun things that come with it, one of the things at the top of my list is ice cream cake from Dairy Queen.

(An aside: I don’t believe in grouching about how I’m getting older or pretending that I don’t have a birthday. I want some presents, I want some ice cream cake and I want to have some fun!)

My dear friends and family know how much I adore ice cream cake, so I got to enjoy not one, not two, but THREE ice cream cakes this year! (Amazingly, my pants still fit.) I’m lucky enough to share my birthday time with two of my awesome nephews, so we frequently have joint celebrations – good by me, that means more ice cream cake!

Personally, I enjoy the standard vanilla on top, chocolate on the bottom, crunchy fudgy goodness in the middle version. We had a Reese’s Cup ice cream cake from Dairy Queen for one of my nephew’s parties and it was good, but I’d still pick the regular version.

I’ve also heard that the Cold Stone Creamery ice cream cakes are good, but I was nervous to ask for one of those. What if I don’t like it as much and I miss out on the yumminess of the regular one?

This is a serious dilemma. You don’t mess with ice cream cake around me. Just ask the nephew who tried to eat the last piece one year.

~Sassycas

One Response to “Ice Cream Cake”

  1. chicapants June 26, 2012 at 8:58 am #

    Oh yes, Sassycas LOVES her ice cream cake. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy it as well, but no where near as much as Sassycas. I concur, the traditional DQ cakes are the best. That fudgey-cookie middle layer is the bomb!

Leave a Reply

